No Soup for You!

Saturday was a super cold, but sunny day in Nashville, the crisp day made me crave a hot bowl of soup. It is now pouring down rain, and I’m still craving a hot bowl of soup. So, I think it’s safe to say that I’m just having a soup craving, and it has nothing to do with the weather.

I gotta focus. I'm shifting into soup mode. – Seinfeld Memes

Soup is one of my favorite things to eat. It is usually fairly easy to make, you usually have leftovers, and it can be so comforting. Since I’m not a huge fan of cooking, leftovers are a big win in my book. I do my best to make two types of soup at the same time. I find it easier to make two large pots of soup and freeze them using 16-oz freezer-safe mason jars. I have found that this is the perfect eating portion for me.

2020-03-02 10.45.10-1
This what my freezer looks like most of the time. I label my soups using Washi Tape

The freezer-friendly recipes really help out with variety. I don’t feel the need to eat soup every day to finish the leftovers or waste food if I don’t get to it on time. I keep a jar of each soup thawed out in my fridge at all times. These make for perfectly portioned, healthy and quick dinners. Not a lot of planning, thinking, or cooking. Just heat it up and go. The biggest thing to remember is to take a frozen jar out of the freezer to replace the one you’re about to eat. My PIC (Partner-In-Crime) usually has the hardest time remembering that last step, but he’s getting much better. I think the feeling of disappointment the times he has gone to the fridge with his heart set on eating a bowl of soup for dinner, and finding out that he forgot to take a jar out of the freezer the last time has really helped him get better at remembering.

Our favorite soup recipes to date:

  1. Carraba’s Mama Mandola’s Sicilian Chicken Soup {Copycat}
  2. Cracker Barrel’s Vegetable Soup {Copycat} – I omitted the potatoes for a freezer-friendly recipe
  3. Chicken Ramen Noodle Soup – So easy I surprised myself!
  1. Instant Pot Black Bean Soup – I freeze leftovers in 8-oz freezer-safe mason jars. I use the black beans on their own, but also in other recipes that call for black beans, instead of buying the canned stuff
  2. Instant Pot Butternut Squash Soup – According to the website, this soup is freezer-friendly since it uses coconut milk instead of cream. I did not attempt to freeze it, so I cannot speak to the consistency once it thaws out. I totally plan on making this again because it was very good. I will add a little less cinnamon next time, though.
  3. Instant Pot Chicken Noodle Soup
  4. Instant Pot Chicken Tortilla Soup – Freezer-friendly
  5. Instant Pot French Onion Soup
  6. Instant Pot Garbanzo Beans – Full disclosure, I don’t make this as a soup, per se. I make this, freeze it in mason jars, and thaw out whenever I need them for a recipe that calls for it instead of using the canned stuff. I feel like this is healthier and cheaper
  7. Instant Pot Great Northern Beans – Same situation as the Garbanzo beans. I make this, freeze it in mason jars, and thaw out as needed
  8. Instant Pot Pho
  9. Instant Pot Vegetable Broth
  10. Instant Pot White Chicken Chili – Freezer-friendly
  11. Olive Garden Minestrone Soup {Copycat} – I omit the spinach and the pasta for a freezer-friendly recipe. If you want, you can add them after you warm up the soup.
  12. Olive Garden Pasta e Fagioli Soup {Copycat} – I omit the pasta for a freezer-friendly recipe. Pasta can be added after
  13. Potato Soup
  14. Skinny Chicken Tortilla Soup – Freezer-friendly
  15. Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup – I double the recipe and freeze leftovers in 8-oz freezer-safe mason jars
  16. Slow Cooker Butternut Squash Soup
  17. Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup – Freezer-friendly
  18. Taco Soup – Freezer-friendly