Taco Soup

Soups are one of my favorite meals. I got this recipe from my mother-in-law, and it’s one of my Partner-In-Crime’s (PIC) favorite. I make this in big batches and freeze using 16-oz freezer-safe mason jars.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb Ground Beef*
  • 1 Onion, chopped
  • Olive oil
  • 1 Packet of Taco Seasoning. I usually make my own taco seasoning and add two tablespoons instead
  • 2 Cans (15.25 oz) Corn, drained
  • 2 Cans (15 oz) Kidney Beans, drained. You can use a different kind of bean if you prefer. Sometimes I make it with black beans
  • 2 cans (4 oz) Green Chilies, drained and chopped
  • 48 oz V-8 Original Vegetable Juice
  • Salt and Pepper, to taste
  • Optional toppings:
    • Tabasco
    • Shredded Cheese
    • Sour Cream
    • Chopped Green Onions
    • Tortilla Chips or Fritos

Steps:

  1. Brown meat, drain if needed. Set aside
  2. Using a large cooking pot add olive oil and sautee the onions until they start to brown
  3. Combine all ingredients and cook at medium-low heat until it boils, allowing all flavors to come together
  4. Serve with toppings

Notes:

*I have also used ground turkey with great success. I imagine that whatever your meat of choice is, as long as it’s grounded or finely shredded will probably work out really well. Alternatively, this recipe can be made vegetarian by omitting the meat.

P.S. I will update with pictures the next time I make this soup!

3 Replies to “Taco Soup”

Leave a comment